Thursday July 14th (Well paint me red and call me tickled pink!)


For the large part when I’m on the road I like to fly ‘under the radar’, keeping myself to myself.  Where travel’s involved, that mostly involves sleeping in the car: it’s just you just spend minimum downtime between getting to places that way.  You can find somewhere quiet before it’s fully dark, and be on the road in the grey dawn, well before sunrise.  Sure it’s SMALL, cramped and uncomfortable, I mean the car is so full of stuff that there is zero chance of putting the seats back or anything. But it also comes with some wonderful gems of moments that otherwise you just wouldn’t experience.  Really wholesome, beautiful moments, like putting your feet up with a near panoramic view of dusk moodily creeping over the San Juans in the Rockies,

Or waking up to the pregnant imminence of the oncoming sunrise on the high plains.

In that sense Vegas is somewhere I would normally drive through.  No one knows I came, no one knows I left.  However I put out a tweet earlier this week saying I was hoping to make it to TAM (still going to be a hard days drive though (~11 hrs)).  Wasn’t even sure what was going to happen when I got there.  So I got in touch with Ashley the other day, just to keep he up to speed that it was now likely that I would actually make it, only to be told that I was expected to the level where accommodation had been arranged!

That blew my little cotton socks off!  My plans had merely gotten as far as ‘get to Vegas!’, with everything after that falling into the ‘improvise and adapt’ category and it was just really nice to find out that someone had heard that I was incoming and was looking out for me.

HAPPY BUNNY!!!!

(\__/)
(=’.’=)
(“)_(“)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Thursday July 14th (Well paint me red and call me tickled pink!)”

  1. Rebecca H. Says:

    It’s not like they’d leave you to camp out on the strip. We love our bunny! 🙂

  2. Archy Fantasies Says:

    I really like your travel logs. I completely understand the want to travel alone in your car, I personally hate flying so it’s often the best option for me. The travel vids you make are just beautiful, thanks again for sharing.

  3. Grand Lunar Says:

    Only goes to show how much you’re really appreciated, despite the mindless rants of critics.

Leave a Reply

