‘Tarantula hawk’ taking home the baby formula!


So on the avenue of the Giants (northern California, Aug 18th 2011) I find myself wandering in the trees and find a very pleasant stream. Then, by the rocks I see a ‘tarantula hawk’ type spider wasp dragging a paralyzed spider. Incredible beasties!

So the parasitic wasps find and paralyze the spider, then drag it back to a burrow they have made, and lay an egg on it, which then devours the paralyzed spider. Other than that, all I know about these wasps is they have incredibly painful stings, among the most painful stings of any insect.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “‘Tarantula hawk’ taking home the baby formula!”

  1. Hydrargyros Says:

    Watching this reminded me of Dawkins’ “Growing up in the universe” lectures. This is a clipping from part 5 where Dawkins talks about fooling a digger wasp.

    I’m not sure if its the same species, but it seem similar.

  2. reader22610226 Says:

    Damn nature, you crazy!

  3. PCPete (aka Cephas Borg) Says:

    I actually watched the Australian version of that type of predator wasp repeatedly attack a Wolf spider, when I was chopping wood. I was about 10 at the time, and I can remember EVERYTHING as if it were yesterday.

    The battle took about 3-4 minutes from start to finish, and the wasp dragged the spider around 4 metres to it’s little hole… That took longer, about 7 or 8 minutes (yes, I timed it!).

    Horrifically creepy in one sense, but weirdly beautiful in another, and utterly entrancing; but it’s the vivid beauty that stayed with me.

    When I finally saw the same thing on “Wild Kingdom”, mum & dad didn’t believe me… But I’ve remained in awe of ol’ ma Nature ever since!

    Sometimes, we’re just born lucky!

  4. rafelangston Says:

    I’d never even heard of a “Tarantula Hawk” until you posted this then my dad and I saw one a couple days ago. Strange coincidence.

  5. tchat sex Says:

    Good write-up. I definitely love this website. Continue the good work!

  6. homepage Says:

    Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too.
    This kind of clever work and exposure! Keep up the great works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

  7. Emilia Says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My blog is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from
    some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if
    this alright with you. Appreciate it!

  8. Santo Says:

    Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog
    site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright
    clear idea

  9. brave frontier zel Says:

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

