Dear Facebook and Googleplus, be honest, it’s just a datagrab!


Its odd, people get so up tight about the government spying on them, but then give facebook and googleplus ALL their personal details without even batting an eyelid.  I don’t really so much care about that…. that’s the price of a ‘free’ website.  However it really pisses me off that all of these sites will not just let me use the alias Thunderf00t.  No, I have to use a ‘real name’ with real personal details, ‘cos building up a profile on an alias just isn’t as profitable as a profile of real person.  Understand this social media sites, I don’t want to tell you ALL my personal details like where and when I was born.  No matter how many times you ask these questions:

Thunderfoot, where did you grow up?

Thunderfoot, where do you work?

Thunderfoot, where did you go to high school?

Thunderfoot, which city do you live in?

Thunderfoot, where did you go to college?

What movies have you watched?

(questions that greet me on facebook)

I have no interest in letting you know every detail of my life and that starts with my name.  I like the idea of anonymity on the internet, because ideas don’t have faces.

“Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth.”

Oscar Wilde

Tags: , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Dear Facebook and Googleplus, be honest, it’s just a datagrab!”

  1. Paul Says:

    I agree, but then again, if they keep this up for long, the whole internet won’t be “free” anymore…

  2. Ahton Says:

    Just dont use sites that require that, or start your own.

  3. Something-a-city Says:

    As an academic and scientist Thunderf00t, you may want to invest more in audit-friendly (and development-minded vs. commercially-focused) Free-as-in-freedom software, of which many social media solutions have been developed (Status.net, GNUbook, etc.)

  4. Assassination, Imprisoning Dissent, Torture, Interventions, Surveillance, and Censorship | Techrights Says:

    […] Dear Facebook and Googleplus, be honest, it’s just a datagrab! […]

  5. Infidel753 Says:

    I have the same view as Ahton. I wouldn’t use any site that required a real name. As for the personal information, we don’t tolerate actual people we barely know asking too many personal questions, so why tolerate it from some giant corporation?

    The Oscar Wilde quote is insightful. Typical of him.

  6. theoffensivatheist Says:

    Too many people are happy to tell everything for anything to change anytime soon. Personally i try to be creative & use a nom-de-plume that satisfies the algorithm.

  7. zeroserenity Says:

    I would figure your access to privacy at this stage is a bit “off the cliff” when you have your own Wikipedia page https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phil_Mason and it answers at least three of those questions.

  8. company Says:

    With more and more families taking vacations, you can find
    more and more companies that are offering baby supply rentals on Anna
    Maria. This recall involves upper guardrails on twin-over-twin bunkbed and
    twin-over -double bed loft designs. company

  9. xserver Says:

    It’s remarkable designed for me to have a
    web site, which is beneficial in support of my know-how.

    thanks admin

  10. Harris Says:

    prescription drugs are usually recommended. Viral shedding of herpes you can do on the entire genital area,
    producing transmission even likelier.

  11. indoart Says:

    You really make it appear so easy with your presentation however I to find this matter to be really something which I feel I’d by no means understand.
    It sort of feels too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m taking a look ahead in your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  12. Satyajay Mandal Says:

    you should delete this post

Leave a comment